Nov 25, 2017 Last Updated 7:59 AM, Nov 24, 2017


JFile: :read: Unable to open file:

Malawi By-Elections: MCP Clinches Victory

Malawi By-Elections: MCP Clinches Victory Image sourced at
Published in Capital News
Read 2470 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Official results from Tuesday’s by-elections indicate that the opposition Malawi Congress Party (MCP) has scooped all the three parliamentary seats and two ward councillors.

The governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has officially won only one councillor seat for Mayani ward in Dedza district.

The elections were held in three wards and three constituencies in Lilongwe, Dedza, Blantyre and Nsanje districts.

According to the official results, MCP’s Lawrence Sitolo has won the parliamentary seat in Nsanje Lalanje constituency with over 8,000 votes against DPP’s Gladys Ganda who has over 4,500 votes.

MCP’s Sosten Gwengwe has won the parliamentary seat for Lilongwe Msozi North with over 10,000 votes while the DPP’s Brian Daka has got 2,559 votes.

The results were announced Wednesday afternoon in the commercial capital Blantyre.

Last modified on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 07:34


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated.Basic HTML code is allowed.

Capital Tweets

Any data to display

Find Us on Facebook