President appoints new Covid-19 taskforce

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

President Mutharika has appointed a presidential taskforce on COVID-19, a move which has reduced former chairperson of the previous cabinet committee Jappie Mhango to a mere member.

Mutharika made the call last evening and the appointments are with immediate effect.

College of Medicine’s John Phuka and Finance Minister Joseph Mwanamvekha have been appointed the position of Co-Chairperson.

Ministers of Health, Disaster, Gender, Justice, Information, Local Government, Population and labour have been hired as members of the taskforce.

Others notable members include Public Affairs Committee Chairperson, Patrick Thawale, Malawi Confederation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry President Prince Kapondamgaga, opposition leader Lobin Lowe, Malawi Health Equity Network Director George Jobe and Chairperson of the Malawi Human Rights Commission Patrick Semphere.

Mutharika announced he would be appointing a new taskforce to replace the cabinet committee following growing calls for an all-inclusive membership of the team.


MAIN NUMBER +265 1875400
NEWSROOM +265 1873067

LILONGWE +265 212251272