MCP unsatisfied with newly appointed MEC Commissioners

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

By Wezi Nyironogo-Chamanza

The Malawi Congress Party (MCP) is expressing reservations on the list of new Commissioners of the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC).

The new commissioners appointed by President Peter Mutharika on Sunday, is dominated by the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) representatives.

DPP has four commissioners namely Arthur Nanthuru, Steve Duwa as well as Jean Mathanga and Linda Kunje who have been maintained from the previous team.

Nanthuru has bounced back after serving as MEC commissioner in the past years while Duwa comes to MEC after serving as the chairperson of CONGOMA and Malawi Electoral Support Network (MESN).

MCP has two representatives, Anthony Mukumbwa and Olivia Liwewe as its commissioners out of the list they submitted to Mutharika.

Mukumbwa is a corporate governance expert while Liwewe is a former member of parliament for Nkhotakota South.

Writing on his Facebook page, MCP Secretary General Eisenhower Mkaka describes the list of commissioners as unequivocally illegal.

Mkaka says the appointments are against the Parliamentary and Presidential Elections Act of 2018. 

Another MCP legislator Peter Dimba writes on Facebook that the law is clear on proportionality and demands that the error must be corrected. 

However, the appointment of Justice Chifundo Kachale as the new-MEC Chairperson is welcomed by social media users without reservations.


MAIN NUMBER +265 1875400
NEWSROOM +265 1873067

LILONGWE +265 212251272